mirror mirror-part 1

Posted on Updated on

“And why should I answer that”, the mirror asked me with a look of sheer annoyance which comes with someone who knows he is in a position to negotiate unscrupulously.

“To humor me for once” I said with a very nonchalant tone of voice, but with an anxious attitude of an eager child.

I guess the mirror recognized the uncertainty in my voice because it eyed me suspiciously and then in a very subtle tone, like a secret agent, it said “what’s in it for me?”

I smirked and then said “AHA! Someone is coming to conciliation”.

The mirror looked at me with a condescending look and then rolled its eyes in a pompous fashion before it moved it hands towards me and said in an overly dramatic look “join the club”.

It was at that moment that full force of my actions came into my full focus. I was lifted from the face of the earth and lifted into a strong gust of wind like a rag doll and then … well never mind, nothing of that sort happened. Yes I am very privy to lying so excuse my power of deception for that.

As I was transported into a new world, the first sensation was of pure heat and I felt if the sun would melt me into vapors. It was just then that I felt a presence beside me. The aura was that of utter confidence and before I could look around I heard him say “so?”

I felt exceptionally angry and turned around to cast a very seething look at him but I got all taken aback. Behind me stood a very tall, handsome man whose features were very hard to miss and as he saw me look at him all wide-eyes, a bemused and knowing expression came upon his face. I felt very displeased as this expression of ridiculous adulation on my behalf, but couldn’t look away without a streak of blush growing on my face.

I guess he realized my annoyance and thus stopped with a smile and said “savvy”.

To conceal my weakness, I just asked “and where have you brought me now?” “My, my being very impatient today, are we?”

I just ignored him then and started observing my surroundings. It seemed I was in a dark alley of some kind and constantly I saw people quickly rushing off towards a certain direction with a very preoccupied look. The people I saw, belonged to a variety of age groups, but it seemed as if certain energy possessed them in those moments. I became exceedingly perplexed because it was almost impossible to understand where I stood on the face of earth.

I thus looked back at him with a blank face and he must have recognized it because he said “any guesses as to where we might be?” I looked with uncertainty and then said “hell’s kitchen” with as much disdain as my tongue could possibly fathom.

He laughed then with a particularly soft style, which was even more attractive and then said “ever the pessimist” and looked away with a thoughtful expression towards the group of people walking towards the particular direction. He looked extremely doubtful at those moments and then turned towards me. 

2 thoughts on “mirror mirror-part 1

    areebakafeel said:
    August 30, 2012 at 11:28 am

    cool stuff u hv there in your mind gurl 😉 loved it

    reneewilkins said:
    August 30, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Love the idea here, and the use of the word unscrupulously 🙂

C'mon, what do you think?

