Zonaira NOT Zoni!!! Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Posted on Updated on

Since I was the youngest one in my family, most feuds about who would name the baby have already taken place and all the eagerness and excitement has now passed away. Also for some reason, this time around my paternal Grandmother predicted with all the zest and surety of a Sybil, that this time a boy will arrive. Firstly, due to this reason, my parents were totally not prepared for a girl, (though I was so beautiful as a child they couldn’t resist falling all over me :D)and thus it were my eldest aunt’s daughters and my elder sister, who named me Zonaira, after much discussions. Since then, it has been easy for everyone to nickname me Zoni which became so common that Zonaira somehow sounds redundant.

Usually I have seen families around me struggle a lot with the name of a baby, usually going as far as to take the guidance of an astrologer who would prescribe certain alphabeth,s like an expert doctor, according to the birth months, with which a baby’s name should start (the case in my sister’s inlaws :D) There were many names put forth in front of my mother and she chose this name and I am happy with my name. Officially I was led to believe that Zonaira meant something along the lines of moonlight but in later years many different meanings came before me. As a child, I loathed my name, because for quite some time, almost up to the age of 6 or 7, I could not write my name either in English, or Urdu, but in my later years and now I love my name for the uniqueness and ingenuity.

However, while it’s unique, I am always the last one to be handed out forms and stuff if we go about alphabetically. Also people love to misspell my name on a continuous basis, whereby I tell them: It’s Zonaira and not Zunairah please, because for some reason, the u makes me wince and cringe.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/daily-prompt-name/

5 thoughts on “Zonaira NOT Zoni!!! Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

    unwrittentruth said:
    May 30, 2013 at 3:59 am

    very well written. almost like a legend. lol. i love it

    Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me said:
    January 15, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    […] Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | Piercing through the Winds […]

    The WheatandTares said:
    February 9, 2016 at 5:36 am

    I love your name and how it’s spelled. Very unique. Very you. 😉

C'mon, what do you think?

